loading...

Application Sent!

Dairy-Free Tips

by: Good Earth Natural Foods

Over 50 million Americans are lactose intolerant and many more choose dairy-free for a variety of reasons. Whether you are completely dairy intolerant, follow a diet that is dairy-free or even vegan, Good Earth has many lactose-free or dairy-free options for you!

Lactose intolerant vs. dairy-free

Lactose is the sugar in milk that the human body breaks down with an enzyme called lactase. Dairy proteins such as whey and casein are broken down by protease, a protein-digesting enzyme. Usually, lactose-intolerant people lack lactase and can still digest milk proteins just fine. Dairy intolerant people may lack lactase and/ or be allergic to milk proteins.  Lactose-free products may contain casein or whey. Truly dairy-free products are void of any dairy component including lactose, whey, casein, etc.

 If you are trying to go completely dairy-free, try these tips while shopping:

1) Check the back of vegetarian cheese labels for casein. Casein is lactose-free, but not dairy-free.

2) Look for easy to make cheese alternatives at home in vegan or raw recipe books

Dairy-free plant proteins

-Pea Protein and any other kind of plant, such as cranberries, nuts, or even coconut, etc.

-Sprouted Grain proteins that come from Brown Rice, Amaranth, Buckwheat, Millet, Quinoa, any type of bean, lentil, or seed.

-Bone Broth Protein (it has collagen, which is important).

Books

 Melt in Your Mouth by Raw Melissa

Raw Food, Real World by Matthew Kenney and Sarma Melngailis

Happy, Healthy, Clean, Living by Cynthia Sumner

Prescriptions for Nutritional Healing by Phyllis A Balch, CNC

Rate this Article
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *